Reformed NPQs live from September 2021

Surrey Teaching Schools Network (STSN) is working with South Farnham and Xavier Teaching School Hubs and Teach First to provide the full suite of reformed NPQs from September 2021. This partnership brings together the best local knowledge and context with the national experience and programmes of Teach First.

Follow this link to a DFE video explaining the new reformed NPQs

All NPQs are taught through a blended balance of online individual learning, online seminars and face-to-face meetings and a simplified end-of-course assessment. There are two cohorts annually, starting in Autumn and Spring.

Leadership National Professional Qualifications

12 month programmes. These three new specialist NPQs replace the current NPQML.

  • NPQLBC: Leading Behaviour and Culture
  • NPQLT: Leading Teaching
  • NPQLTD: Leading Teacher Development


18 month programmes:

  • NPQSL: Senior Leaders
  • NPQH: Headship (including a new programme of support for newly appointed Headteachers)
  • NPQEL: Executive Leadership



Schools with more than 30% FSM are eligible for full scholarships for all courses.  All participants accepted on to the NPQ for Leading Teacher Development and the NPQ for Headship programmes will be fully funded.  Costs of the other programmes will be published once the DfE has finalised the first-year funding allocations at the end of May.

Register your interest by emailing